Select Page

Accrington Academy played host for the Hyndburn Section of the Kids cup football competition in which 13 schools would compete for the right to face the Ribble Valley winners at half time during Accrington Stanley vs. Notts County and also to be the Hyndburn representative In the Lancashire schools DANONE cup finals.

The 13 teams would be split into 4 groups with the top 2 teams progressing through to the quarter finals and then semi-finals and final stages. Group A would see St John St Augustine A, Peel Park, St Bartholomew’s and Moor End compete with St Bartholomew’s topping the group and Peel Park finishing 2nd in the group. They would play the winners and runners up of group B who would be from West End, St Anne & St Josephs and St Peter & St Pauls, it would see West End progress as group winners and St Anne & St Joseph’s go through in second place. Group C would see St Marys Oswaldtwistle A win the group comfortably as they beat Huncoat who finished second and St John St Augustine B, and finally Group D saw Benjamin Hargreaves top the group with Baxenden finishing second leaving St Marys Oswaldtwistle B in third position.

The quarter final line-up would see St Bartholomew’s win a close game vs St Anne & St Joseph’s 1-0, St Marys Oswaldtwistle A would beat Baxenden 3-0, West End would be narrowly beaten 2-0 by Peel Park, and last year’s winners Huncoat where beaten 1-0 by Benjamin Hargreaves. The Semi-finals would see Peel Park comfortably book there place in the final after beating Benjamin Hargreaves 5-0 while St Marys Oswaldtwistle would join them after beating St Bartholomew’s 2-0.

In the final it was Peel Park vs. St Marys Oswaldtwistle A it would be the team from Oswaldtwistle who came out on top with a stunning performance to win the game and become Champions for the 2nd time in 3 years, Peel Park finished 2nd and St Bartholomew’s finish 3rd overall.

Congratulations and Good Luck to St Marys Oswaldtwistle who will face St Leonards Langho on the 9th January at half time during Accrington Stanley vs. Notts County. Thank you to all teams who entered and also thank you to Accrington Stanley Community trust and Accrington Academy for hosting and supporting the event and for providing referees.