Select Page

Rishton Cricket Club played host to 12 primary school teams with their year 4&5 cricket teams made up of 10 pupils. The teams was split into 4 groups of 3, Group A would see St Bartholomew’s, St Johns Great Harwood and St Marys Langho compete while Group B was contested by Simonstone, St Anne’s & St Josephs and St Marys Oswaldtwistle . Group C featured St Marys Clayton A, Benjamin Hargreaves and  Spring Hill while in Group D St Marys Clayton B, Peel Park and Sacred Heart.

The quarter finals was made up of St Bartholomew’s vs. St Marys Clayton A with St Bartholomew’s winning the place in the semi final where they would meet the winner of St Johns Great Harwood vs. St Anne’s & St Joseph’s which was St Anne’s & St Josephs. The other semi final was made up of Benjamin Hargreaves after they beat Spring Hill and they would play St Marys Oswaldtwistle after they beat St Marys Clayton B. The semi finals would be 2 really tight and tense games St Bartholomew’s beat St Anne’s & St Josephs while Benjamin Hargreaves just about beat St Marys Oswaldtwistle after a tie game Benjamin Hargreaves managed to win a bowl out. The 3rd/4th place play off was won by St Marys Oswaldtwistle who left with bronze medals. The final would be a really close game with St Bartholomew’s needing 4 from the final 3 balls of the game, a 6 was hit and they defended the last 2 balls to win the game.

Thank you to Rishton CC for hosting and Norden High School for providing leaders. A special mention must go to all in attendance players, teachers, leaders, parents who at 11:00am stopped what was happening and observed the national minutes silence for the Manchester Arena Attack Victims.