Select Page

On Thursday 9th March Ribblesdale High School hosted 21 teams who all had hopes of becoming Ribble Valley tag rugby champions 2017. The teams was split up into 4 groups with the winner of each group making the semi-final stage. Group A was made up of St Marys Langho A, Chatburn, Grindleton, Balderstone A, St Joseph’s Hurst Green and Whalley B. St Marys Langho A finished top of the group winning all 5 group games finishing on 15 points, St Joseph’s Hurst Green finished 2nd on 12 points, Chatburn finished 3rd on 7 points, Grindleton finished 4th on 6 points, Whalley B was in 5th place with 3 points while Balderstone A was in 6th place with 1 point. Group B featured Waddington & West Bradford who won the group with 12 points, Salesbury finished 2nd with 9 points, Brennands Endowed A was in 3rd place on 4 points with Balderstone B in 4th also on 4 points in 4th place however Brennands finish above them on try difference, St Marys Langho B finish in 5th place.

Group C was won by Brookside who finished on 10 points the same as St Leonards Langho A but finish top of the group with a +11 try difference compared to +8 from St Leonards Langho in 2nd, Bolton By Bowland finish in 3rd place on 6 points with Mellor in 4th and Brennands Endowed B in 5th. The final group, Group D was won by St Michael & St Johns who got 8 points just ahead of Whalley A on 7 points, Gisburn finished 3rd on 5 points, St Leonards Langho B finished 4th on 4 points and Pendle finished 5th on 2 points.

The semi-final stage was set up with St Marys Langho vs Brookside and St Michael & St Johns vs. Waddington & West Bradford the games. St Marys Langho A beat Brookside 2-1 in the first semi-final while Waddington & West Bradford beat St Michael & St Johns 4-2 in the second semi-final. In the 3rd and 4th place playoff game St Michael & St Johns beat Brookside 4-2 to leave with Bronze medals. The final was a really close game however Waddington and West Bradford beat St Marys Langho 4-2 to win the competition.

Thank you to Ribblesdale High School for hosting the competition, Clitheroe Royal Grammar School for providing 4 referees and also to Clitheroe Rugby Club and Ribble Valley Council for supporting the competition again. Good luck to Waddington & West Bradford who will now represent the Ribble Valley in the Lancashire Finals.