Select Page

Accrington Academy hosted the Hyndburn KS1 kurling competition where 21 schools competed across 4 groups with the top team qualifying for the semi-finals. Group A saw Benjamin Hargreaves B finish top ahead of Mount Pleasant, Peel Park A, St Marys Oswaldtwistle A and St Nicholas. Benjamin Hargreaves B played the winner of Group B; St Marys Clayton C after they finished ahead of Benjamin Hargreaves A, St Pauls B, All Saints A and St Marys Oswaldtwistle B. Group C was won by St Pauls A after they finished ahead of St Marys Clayton B, St Anne & St Joseph’s A St Bartholomew’s B and All Saints C and the winner  played the winner of group D which was St Bartholomew’s A after they finished ahead of St Marys Clayton A, St Anne & St Joseph’s B, Peel Park B and All Saints B. In the Semi-finals St Pauls  got the better of St Marys Clayton C to play Benjamin Hargreaves B after they beat St Bartholomew’s A. In the Final Benjamin Hargreaves won 2-1 against St Pauls and St Marys Clayton finished third after beating St Bartholomew’s A 4-3.

St Augustine hosted the Ribble Valley section of the Kurling competition with 25 teams taking part.  Group A was won by Brennands Endowed A ahead of Pendle B, Balderstone A, and Read St Johns C. Group B was won by Salesbury B ahead of Brennands B, Gisburn A, Balderstone B, Waddington & West Bradford A and Clitheroe St James. Group C was won by Read A ahead of Edisford, Gisburn B, Waddington & West Bradford B, Bolton by Bowland and St Joseph’s Hurst Green. Group D was won by Grindleton ahead of Pendle A, St Leonards, Read B, St Michael & St Johns and St Wulstans. The semi-final line-up included Salesbury B, Read A, Brennands Endowed A and Grindleton. Grindleton lost to Read in the semi final and Brennands lost to Salesbury. Brennands then beat Grindleton in the 3rd/4th Place playoff match to take the bronze medals back to school. The final was between Read and Salesbury which was a very close game that Read  managed to win in the end.


Thank you to all schools who took part in both events and also to the sports leaders at each event.