Select Page

On Tuesday 7th March Accrington Academy hosted the Hyndburn Schools Tag Rugby competition, 13 schools entered in the hope of becoming Hyndburn Tag Rugby Champions for 2017. The teams were split into 3 groups with the top two teams qualifying from the group  along with 2 best performing 3rd place teams joining them in the quarter finals.

In group A Benjamin Hargreaves qualified top of the group after winning all of their group games with St Bartholomew’s finishing 2nd in the group with their only defeat coming from Benjamin Hargreaves A, Peel Park B also qualified as one of the best third placed sides. In Group B St Anne & St Josephs finished top of the group winning all of their games, in 2nd place were Huncoat winning 1, drawing 1 and losing 1 then came Benjamin Hargreaves B who qualified as one of the best 3rd placed teams.  Group C was won by Peel Park A winning all three of their group games with Moorend going through in 2nd place.

The quarter finals saw some really interesting games with all sides playing well and really wanting to be one of the four semi-finalists. Moorend vs. Benjamin Hargreaves A was won 4-1 by Benjamin Hargreaves to set up a semi-final vs Peel Park A after they beat Benjamin Hargreaves B. St Bartholomew’s beat Huncoat 3-1 to set up a semi-final match vs St Anne’s and St Josephs after they beat Peel Park B.

Once again the semi-finals were close affairs with all four sides playing really well however Peel Park A overcame Benjamin Hargreaves A with a golden try and St Bartholomew’s beat St Anne’s & St Josephs. Benjamin Hargreaves A took 3rd place and left with Bronze medals after beating St Anne & St Joseph’s 2-0 in the 3rd/4th Place playoff game. The final was won by a golden try with the game level at 1-1 after the duration of the game, Peel Park A managed to score the golden try to win the game 2-1 and become Hyndburn Tag Rugby champions.  

Well done to everyone who took part and also good luck to Peel Park A who will represent Hyndburn in the county finals.